Are dating apps making it impossible to find real love?

Are dating apps that gamify dating and looking for a partner, actually fucking it all up for us?

Dating in your 20s is hard. Dating in you 30s even harder. As a 30-something woman who with a good job, great interests, who can cook delicious meals from scratch, is caring towards other people and animals, and is capable of doing things on her own, I’d like to think of myself as a catch.

Having spent the past six months exploring dating though the means of Tinder and Bumble – I joined OKCupid recently but only lasted four days before the “how’s u?” and “nice rack” messages became too much – I haven’t got much to show for it. A handful new experiences yes, but I am nowhere near finding someone to date, let alone someone to love. After months of swiping I find myself questioning everything. Is it me? Am I not the lovely person I think I am? Yes I know I have my flaws – I’m only human after all – but I can’t be that bad?! Or is it just the type of people these apps attract that’s the problem? Are they all avoidants, is that why they’re still in the dating pool? Are they after quick hook-ups, no commitment or desire for a long-term relationship? I’m starting to think all of the above are true…

Being part of the dating game is exhausting. It’s like looking for a needle in a haystack. Only the haystack is the size of London, and the needle…Well, who the fuck knows where it is.

Swipe. Swipe. Swipe.

I’m starting to think that for most Tinder et al is only another Pokemon Go where you “gotta catch em all”, only that these come with the possibility of sex from time to time.

Swipe. Swipe. Swipe.

Left for the pictures of drugged tigers.

Left for those that don’t have any photos showing their eyes.

Left for those taking selfies of their ‘gym bodies’ in the mirror.

I’m remaining hopeful that there is someone out there for me still, but I’m thinking I won’t find him through an app…

One thought on “Are dating apps making it impossible to find real love?

Leave a Reply

